Liquid | Author App Store Reviews

 

 

 

赞一个  (5/5 stars)

by 小胖胖0118 – Jan 10, 2019

简洁优雅,暗黑模式写作沉浸感很强!

 

James T  (5/5 stars)

by JamesLambda – Jan 9, 2019

Great minimalist distraction free writing environment. Collapsing document on pinch a great feature.

 

Excellent and innovative (5/5 stars)

by JWPhillips91 – Jan 7, 2019

I would not have thought you could innovate in word processing, but this has done it. Excellent tool.

 

At last! (5/5 stars)

by notimeflat – Jan 5, 2019

A simple text editor that does exactly what you want, and no more.  Upgrade to pro is inexpensive, and the export features work well.

 

Seriously, the best writing app I've come across (5/5 stars)

by haniahs – Jan 1, 2019

I also stumbled upon this app by accident - and it is by far, the most effective, simple but efficient app I have used. I am a student researcher and someone who enjoys creative writing, and whether it is for a research paper, a literature review, a blog, or anything I need to communicate to someone somehow, this app allows me to do so without a problem - there is nothing on my screen besides the words I write and this increases my productivity and the quality of the content. The app developer is excellent with communications as well, and once you learn how to use the features effectively (which is quite easy to use) - you will not want to write using any other app again.

 

Quick and Superfast Publishing (5/5 stars)

by Exist2011 – Nov 26, 2018

I find Author really one of the fastest ways to publish to my wordpress sites.

The best feature is linking and adding citiations is super fast. This is a minimalist app for quickly writing and publishing for me.

Also check out the liquid flow app by the same publishers. Will make your life much easier.

 

Superb minimalist writing environment plus (5/5 stars)

by hoakleyUK – Nov 16, 2018

Beautifully designed, its edit mode is extremely comfortable for long work sessions in Light or Dark Mode. Uncluttered, it still has plenty of powerful features.

Notable among these are its extensive facilities for citations, which can be used for captioning images as well. These are delivered with simplicity, not a mass of complex controls and tools.

Export now supports most formats such as Word .docx, Rich Text (RTFD), and PDF. The latest addition is to export direct to WordPress blog, which is excellent - alone this makes Liquid | Author one of the best tools for anyone writing a blog. With one source exporting reliably to all these different formats and media, Liquid | Author should be high on the list of anyone who crafts words, whether writing their thesis, running a blog, or making their living.

Superb value (with the in-app purchase) and strongly recommended.

 

WOW!  (4/5 stars)

by designcologne – Nov 16, 2018

What a great little app!

But could you make it highlight found hits in find mode? Please, that would be very helpful.

 

Excellent app with fantastic citation abilties (5/5 stars)

by CharlesSG – Oct 22, 2018

Very lightweight text editor that has the lightness of markdown without all the markdown code that comes with it, and with the added powers of citation and unique gestures.

Loving the new pinch-to-change view between outline and essay and really looking forward to future updates that should include "mindmapping" abilities!

 

absolutely top notch (5/5 stars)

by mjscox – Aug 10, 2018

This app, which I just discovered by accident, is fantastic. It does more with less, meaning I can write, and cite if I need to, without using bloatware (you know who I mean). And the author of this application is really good with documentation. I am looking forward to working with it, and I hope that it continues to be a well-thought-through application that doesn’t pander to every ridiculous request but stays slim and efficient. Highly recommended for serious writers and students (who are also serious)!

 

I am impressed with its ease of use and overview (5/5 stars)

by mcfyn – Mar 2, 2018

Found this app whilst looking for something to use for my Masters dissertation. The best feature is the collapsable outline feature. It gives a great overview.

A nice feature to have would be some way of importing Bibtex files for the citations, as I will be formatting my finished dissertation using LaTex. I am also eagerly anticipating the arrival of the IOS version for iPad. I can definitely recommend Liquid Author!

 

Clean, distraction-free, and easy on the eyes (5/5 stars)

by Crimson Hikari – Feb 4, 2018

I got this to try out, and ended up buying the export upgrade a few minutes later because I liked using it that much. It’s a clean little app, perfect for distraction-free writing.

Pros:

 -The background colour by default is a warm tone, so less eye strain when writing at night.

 -While it doesn’t quite have the theme or formatting features just yet, it’s easy to apply different headings and change text size.

 -The ability to add in link references easily, and to  isn’t something I’ve taken advantage of just yet, but I can imagine this would be a valuable resource for any student trying to write a dissertation - it does a lot of the work for you, and for the things that it can’t automatically find a reference for, it allows you to input manually with ease.

 -It’s inexpensive - I spent more on one of the drinks I had last night than I did on this.

Cons:

 -Not a lot of formatting options, but according to the creator, a few more options will be coming in future updates. If they could add in Courier, Courier New, or American Typewriter fonts/typefaces, and 1.5 or double line spacing for ease of reading and review, that would be fantastic!

 -Colour themes for those not a fan of the warm background would be a great plus (I’ve been waiting for this in pages for YEARS, and nothing. Apple needs to step up), but again, this is something that is coming in a future update.

Overall, if you’re looking for a good app to draft your dissertation, or a place to get out all your story ideas without messing around too much with making it ultra-pretty, it’s a great utility for doing so, and worth the money. I wish I’d had this app while I was studying because it would have made my assignments so much easier.

 

Something very different (5/5 stars)

by Talker3683 – Jan 28, 2018

Its a wonderful app and I am so excited to see how it develops. Very excited for a app that melds linear writing process to horizontal / flexible strcturing processes. This is an app for writers!

 

Truly powerful new approach to text (5/5 stars)

by easternsierra – Jan 16, 2018

Author is a truly new concept in writing.  Following the lead of pioneers like Doug Engelbart and Ted Nelson (if you don’t know who these people are, you need to do some research!) this is a powerful tool that requires some learning.  Do watch the videos to understand the concepts that are implemented in Author.  You will soon learn to leverage these features and concepts and will wonder how you lived without them!

Designing a tool like Author is a delicate balance—how to implement the features with a holistic and clean approach such that the software doesn’t get in your way.  Compare with large and complex systems like Word and you will find Author a breath of fresh air!

I’ve been working in software and user experience for over 40 years and an application like this does not come along often.  I also don’t write many reviews—most software isn’t worth reviewing.  Try it, spend some time, and you will be rewarded :-)

 

A great, uncluttered, word processor (5/5 stars)

by UKPHS – Jan 11, 2018

I have been using Author for the past few month to write project procedures and manuals.

When I write, my mind tends to suddenly jump to something I have forgotton or want to expand.  I have found Author is great for this.  In no time I move around section of my document not having to worry about messing up formatting etc.

Whilst the finished document needs to be in Word, the contents are written in Author.

Looking forward to its future.

 

This 'free' ware wasted my time ... (5/5 stars)

by Hyper1ink – Dec 24, 2017

... because it can't even open/save .rtfd files. To do so, it wants 6,99€ ... xD So i gave five stars! :p

 

The future of text is Author (5/5 stars)

by FrankM2012 – Dec 22, 2017

Author is such a smart, clever tool. It makes the creation of a document so intuitive and dynamic. If you write a lot of text, and especially if you write academic documents and research papers, you HAVE to try this out.

The job of any new tool these days, is to make your life easier and more productive. Author is such a tool. It really is.

 

很喜欢很喜欢 (5/5 stars)

by WowIvory – Dec 16, 2017

很喜欢很喜欢 尤其是全屏和退出全屏是同一个按键

 

The importance of the written word (5/5 stars)

by Father Luke Miljevich – Dec 12, 2017

I write. I write critical papers, essays, poems, short stories, and on occasion I have been known to jot down a grocery list and send my mother a birthday card. The written word is so common that what you are reading is actually an example.

Amalgamating current software technologies and tools, Liquid|Author brings to the user a complex system designed to enhance the simplicity of the common written word, whether writing an Academic Thesis, or writing to your mother asking her for money.

The beauty and usefulness of this deceptively simple software is in the flow. I’ve never experienced anything like this. And, by golly, the price seems a joke; I’ve bought other written software which kept me searching for something else which felt whole and complete.

I don’t know you, and I think you’ll enjoy, as have I, Liquid|Author. And I recommend it as I would encourage you to enjoy Van Gough’s Starry Night. Liquid|Author is a work of art

 

Great, ‘clean’ writing tool (5/5 stars)

by Prezzlewick – Nov 22, 2017

Liquid works great for writers that need a clean, distraction-free environment in which to shape their thoughts and ideas. There’s a powerful set of tools hidden away in here, and it’s really useful for academics particularly with powerful citation options. The tagging system for assigning sections is one of those ‘why hasn’t this been done before’ features. Very recommended!

 

Writer (5/5 stars)

by Politiscopes – Nov 13, 2017

I am an avid writer of both creative and critical works and this app makes my life easier. The ability to collapse paragraphs to get an overview of the project is invaluable. It’s also visually clean and has a great interface. Love it.

 

The modern day word processor- much more efficient (5/5 stars)

by Lucy Unapologetic – Edited Nov 11, 2017

Author provides clean and effective way of writing in an organised manner whereby you won’t get lost in your ideas but instead be able to manage them in a more structured way. The ability to make and keep track of references is now ever so simple and the reference too really aids with the thought process when writing an essay or any sort of documentation.  I strongly reccommend this programme to anyone to who wants t... more

 

Light, easy and attractive. (5/5 stars)

by AdnanSiddiqui68 – Nov 10, 2017

I have been looking for a word processer just like this one. MS Word is too heavy and drab for everyday tasks.

 

Author (5/5 stars)

by Bo Shavique – Oct 20, 2017

I’ve found this to be an exceptionally useful tool for my writing, it's simple, elegant and it has a brilliant citation support feature. For the price of an overpriced coffee, you can't go wrong.

 

Unique, delightful ‘words processor' (5/5 stars)

by thatkeith – Sep 23, 2017

There are many word processors, but this is the only ‘WORDS processor.’ Liquid Author is designed specifically and carefully to help craft your thoughts as well-structured writing – and nothing more. It presents a clean writing space with simple keyboard shortcuts for adding header (section) tagging, simple styling and lists, web links... and that magic ingredient for any academic writer: citations! Want an overview of your document? Pinch in to collapse down to just the headlines (aka ‘Contents' view), pinch out to jump back. The Escape key jumps in AND out of full-screen mode for distraction-free writing, and there’s a discreet live word count at the bottom. It uses its own .liquid file format, but internally it’s based on RTF; standards-based and extractable.

If you’re a writer, this is designed for you. It does just the core things writers need, and it does them very well.

 

Like the concept, but buggy (3/5 stars)

by Vermonter17032 – Sep 15, 2017

I looked at the videos on the developers web site and thought this app was worth a try, but unfortunately it appears to be buggy. Right off the bat I’ve been unable to set a heading. I follow the directions and nothing happens! Also, the back ground color is supposed to change between Edit and Read modes, but it just stays the same. I’ve found these two issues in just a couple of minutes. Hopefully the developer will fix these issues (and any others lurking within). If so, I think this app has a lot of promise.

Update: Indeed, the issue with the heading setting was fixed with the new update. Still trying the app out, so I’m only giving it three stars for now. I’ll be back to update again after more use.